Cinderella Man

A new review from The Movie Snob:

Cinderella Man (B). That Guy Named David has already posted a thorough review here, so I’ll limit myself to just a few words. I thought this was a good movie, but it just didn’t make it into the “A” category for me. I’m as much a sucker for sentimental movies as the next guy, but Director Ron Howard (Solo: A Star Wars Story) trowels the treacle on just a bit too heavily even for my taste. Russell Crowe’s character is like a St. Francis of Assisi of the Boxing Ring, which does at least make for a nice contrast to the actor’s thuggish persona in real life. In the end, it’s a feel-good movie, and I did leave feeling good, and only a little manipulated. Not bad.

3 comments on “Cinderella Man

  1. […] never really catches fire.  Neither Hugh Jackman (Australia) in the lead role nor Russell Crowe (Cinderella Man) as Inspector Javert impressed me with his singing ability.  Anne Hathaway (The Dark Knight Rises) […]

  2. […] Potter (A-). Renee Zellweger (Cinderella Man) stars in this biopic about children’s author Beatrix Potter, best known as the creator of […]

  3. […] as the title character in this modern-day fairy tale. The talented Paul Giamatti (Sideways, Cinderella Man) plays Cleveland Heep, a stuttering sad sack of a guy who is the superintendent of a rundown […]

Leave a comment