Joy (a second opinion)

The Movie Snob takes in a biopic.

Joy (B).  So, I saw this movie about inventor and marketing mogul Joy Mangano a couple of nights ago.  As I was driving home, I thought, “How odd that I have never seen or really even heard of this person before.”  When I got home, I retrieved my mail, and, lo and behold, there she was on the cover of a Bed Bath & Beyond flyer, touting her redesigned Miracle Mop.  Anyway, I basically agree with Mom Under Cover’s opinion that this is a pretty good movie.  It’s Jennifer Lawrence’s picture all the way, and she (Winter’s Bone) delivers her typical go-for-broke performance.  Like Mom Under Cover says, Joy is basically a human weeble–she continually gets knocked down, but she always gets right back up.  I enjoyed watching her fight to realize her dream, with various degrees of help and hindrance from her divorced parents, her beloved grandma (Diane Ladd, TV’s Alice), her ex-husband, her jealous half-sister, and her dad’s flamboyant foreign girlfriend, played with flair by Isabella Rossellini (Blue Velvet).  Bradley Cooper (American Sniper) has basically a glorified cameo as the QVC manager who gives Joy her big break.  The ending wrapped up a little too quickly and easily for my taste.  But on the whole, I enjoyed it.

One comment on “Joy (a second opinion)

  1. […] Texas scenery that Bridges gives a vigorous chewing.  I also enjoyed the Jennifer Lawrence vehicle Joy, which I’m pretty sure was a 2015 […]

Leave a Reply

