The Peanuts Movie

New from the desk of The Movie Snob.

The Peanuts Movie  (B-).  I have liked Charlie Brown ever since I was a kid.  Not just the Charlie Brown Christmas TV special, which I have seen a million times, or the less-seen Halloween and Thanksgiving TV specials, but also many of the old collections of old Charlie Brown comic strips.  But I was surprised to hear that they were making a movie about good ol’ Charlie Brown, and I was even more surprised to hear that it was generally getting good reviews and doing pretty good box office.  I guess I just didn’t think the Peanuts gang would translate well onto the big screen.  Well, I saw it today, and I really didn’t think it was any great shakes.  Pleasant enough, for sure, and suitable for the whole family.  But I have to think quite a few youngsters out there would find it a little bit boring.  The main plot involves Charlie Brown’s crush on the little red-haired girl, who moves in across the street from him and of course ends up in his class at school.  So for the next several months, he tries to impress her so that she will like him.  How well does that go?  Well, he is Charlie Brown after all.  The main subplot is the saga of Snoopy versus the Red Baron.  It’s all fine enough, and there are plenty of nods to the old TV specials and comic strips.  They did a great job finding voice-over artists who sound just like the voices in the old TV specials.  And there’s a nice moral of the story.  But somehow, unlike Snoopy’s doghouse, it just didn’t take off for me.  Good grief!

Leave a Reply

