Interstellar

New from The Movie Snob.

Interstellar  (B+).  Director Chris Nolan (Inception) is back with another big-concept movie.  I can’t say too much about the plot for fear of spoilers, but almost a month into the film’s release I think I can safely say it is about astronauts searching for habitable worlds other than Earth because Earth itself is getting increasingly less habitable as the 21st century goes on.  Matthew McConaughey (Mud) plays the lead astronaut on the mission, while Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables) plays some other scientist-type member of the crew.  More than that, I cannot say.  I definitely enjoyed it; although the run time is 169 minutes, I never got bored or looked at my watch.  But I can’t quite give it an “A” grade because there’s just too much stuff that left me scratching my head and thinking, “Huh?”  I understand that Nolan tried to stick to the known rules of science in creating the movie, but he gets into some pretty far-out theoretical physics along the way.  As long as I turned my brain off and focused on the spectacle, I liked it just fine.  If you’re into sci-fi, and especially if you enjoyed 2001: A Space Odyssey, you will probably enjoy this movie.

6 comments on “Interstellar

  1. […] actors Jones persuaded to be in his pic, including Meryl Streep (Hope Springs), John Lithgow (Interstellar), James Spader (Lincoln), Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit), and Miranda Otto (Lord of the Rings: The […]

  2. […] but I already used it for Best Action/Adventure Flick.  Setting that film aside, I would pick Interstellar, starring Matthew McConaughey and Anne Hathaway as intrepid astronauts trying to find a new home […]

  3. […] If you liked Gravity and Apollo 13, you need to get out there and see this film.  Matt Damon (Interstellar) plays a modern-day Robinson Crusoe—an astronaut on a mission to Mars who is separated from the […]

  4. […] Ms. Austen’s life, so this is probably a work composed mostly of speculation. Anne Hathaway (Interstellar) is Jane as a young woman. She lives with her middling-to-poor family, eking out a living in rural […]

  5. […]  The band of merry men includes Kovacs’ brother-in-law played beautifully by Casey Affleck (Interstellar), Matthew Broderick (Election), Michael Peña (Fury) and petty thief, Slide (Eddie Murphy, The […]

  6. […] bodies in random cornfields. Nicholson (Anger Management) is fantastic as an Irish mob boss, Damon (Interstellar) is superb as the Irish mob boss’ conflicted crooked cop, and DiCaprio makes me forgive him […]

Leave a Reply

