Captain Phillips

Movie Man Mike graces us with an appearance!

Captain Phillips. A-.  I never got around to seeing this film in the theaters last year, but it received nominations for Academy Awards, including Best Picture and Best Supporting Actor, so I figured I would see what the buzz was all about.  Good grief, this was a surprisingly riveting movie.  When it started and I realized that it was about the Somali pirates raids on U.S. ships off the coast of Africa, I tensed up, thinking that I probably wasn’t going to be all that enamored with the film.  Wrong.  The film draws you in as it sets up the scene for a raid of the US MV Maersk Alabama.  This is the telling of the true story of the 2009 hijacking.  Captain Richard Phillips is played by Tom Hanks.  Hanks’ performance is so amazing that I totally got lost in the fact that it was Tom Hanks and I felt like I was right there with him during every tense moment.  I am really surprised that he didn’t at least get a nomination for Best Actor out of this one.  The story is a good one and with a good outcome.  Even if this were fictionalized, the suspense of the story would make it a good movie to see, but knowing that it is based on true events makes it all the more incredible.  I recommend this move whole-heartedly.

Leave a Reply

