John Fogerty (concert review)

A concert review from The Movie Snob.

John Fogerty (Oct. 18, 2013, at Verizon Theatre in Grand Prairie, Texas).  How often do you get to see a rock and roll legend, much less one who performed at Woodstock?  I heard that Fogerty was coming to Dallas only last weekend, and I did not hesitate long before shelling out my $65 for a ticket.  (For a seat with a slightly obstructed view, as it turned out.  But three giant screens over the stage made that a minor annoyance.)  I was only four when Creedence Clearwater Revival broke up, but like every American over a certain age I’m reasonably familiar with CCR’s hits and a few of Fogerty’s solo efforts.  Fogerty, who is 68, put on a good show (with no opening act).  He played quite a few songs I wasn’t familiar with, but even they were reasonably enjoyable.  And he played plenty of songs I did know.  Off the top of my head, he played:

Hey Tonight
Born on the Bayou
Good Golly Miss Molly
Who’ll Stop the Rain
Green River
Lodi
Have You Ever Seen the Rain?
Fortunate Son
Down on the Corner
Looking out My Back Door
Long As I Can See the Light
I Heard It Through the Grapevine
Pretty Woman
Midnight Special
Centerfield
The Old Man Down the Road
Bad Moon Rising
Proud Mary

I don’t remember much about the songs I didn’t recognize, although one called Mystic Highway was pretty nice.  Fogerty played a solid two-hour set, and his voice is still good.  He told a few interesting anecdotes, including a story about CCR’s performance at Woodstock.  CCR got the 9:30pm slot on Saturday night, right after the Grateful Dead, but the lack of organization, technical problems, and, well, the Grateful Dead kept CCR from taking the stage until about 2:30 in the morning, when most attendees were asleep.

The show was much louder than I had hoped it would be, but I went prepared with earplugs.  I noticed the middle-aged fellow in front of me put his fingers in his ears for the first few songs, and then an usher came by with a big cup full of earplugs and gave him a couple.  In sum, it was good show, and I was glad I went.  Go see him if you get the chance — but take some ear protection!

Leave a Reply

