Parental Guidance

Another review from Nick at Nite.

Parental Guidance

I wanted to like this movie. I really did. I think Billy Crystal is funny. His SNL schtick was great. His Oscar songs are almost always tolerable. I am down with it all. This was not his best work. Billy and Bette Midler play inept grandparents that must watch their grandkids for a long weekend while the parents are away. I am sure you have guessed, things go badly and then get better. This movie cannot figure out what it is . . . slapstick, after-school special, Hallmark movie, or updated Parenthood (which is funnier and more meaningful). Marisa Tomei, why are you in this movie? I give it a C.

Leave a Reply

