Coraline

New review from Movie Man Mike

Coraline (C). I surely didn’t expect this film to be the disappointment it turned out to be based upon my impression from the trailers. But, I suppose the whole point of a trailer is to lure us in to see the film. I could not decide if this film was directed at adult audiences or younger audiences. In the end, I don’t recommend it for either. Boiled down to its essential point, the story is clearly directed to children, but there are lots of very dark aspects to the story that I would never recommend for children. As an adult, I was impressed with the animation and there were some quirky characters in the story that I truly enjoyed. But the story wasn’t all that entertaining. If you enjoy animation for the sake of animation, perhaps you will like seeing this. If you must see it, I would wait for it to come out on DVD.

Leave a comment