Iron Man

New movie review from The Movie Snob

Iron Man (B+). I’ll have to defer to Comic Book Guy as to how faithful this flick is to the comics from which it sprang, but it stands on its own merits as a solid superhero movie. Robert Downey, Jr. (The Avengers) stars as Tony Stark, a zillionaire inventor who made his pile in the weapons biz. After some unpleasantness in Afghanistan, he comes home with a bad ticker and a worse conscience. (How he built a pacemaker-sized nuclear reactor in a cave in Afghanistan is a great mystery to me.) To expiate his sins as a munitions maker, he creates a fabulous metallic suit that gives him, basically, super powers. Good action, good performance by Downey. Gwyneth Paltrow (Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow) is wasted as Stark’s girl Friday, the improbably named Pepper Potts. Jeff Bridges (True Grit) plays an oily (and bald) executive in Stark’s weapons company, but I just kept thinking, “Hey, that’s Jeff Bridges in a superhero movie!” every time I saw him. There’s a tiny little extra scene after all the credits, but it meant nothing to me. Comic book fans would probably get more out of it. A very good summertime flick.

Oh, and it just happens to be the 1000th movie I’ve ever seen. I’m sure it sounds obsessive for me to know that, but my sister and I have had a contest for years to see who could see more movies, so we both keep track. Okay, she just tells me when she sees a movie; I do all the keeping track. Anyway, I’m totally kicking her butt, since she’s seen only about 950 movies in her life. But I’m about 9 years older than she is, so I guess she’s doing all right.

8 comments on “Iron Man

  1. […] up until close to 1:00 a.m., and I was never in danger of falling asleep.  Robert Downey, Jr. (Iron Man) has plenty of good one liners, Tom Hiddleston (Thor) makes for a pretty good villain as Loki, and […]

  2. […] see a loud action movie. But my head was POUNDING by the time I left. Anyway, if you saw the first Iron Man, this is basically more of the same. Robert Downey, Jr. (Tropic Thunder) reprises his role as Tony […]

  3. […] counselor for the student body. The cast includes Anton Yelchin (Star Trek), Robert Downey, Jr. (Iron Man), Hope Davis (The Hoax), and Kat Dennings (The House Bunny). It is a charming, honest story about […]

  4. […] fine supporting cast (John Goodman, Arachnophobia; Joan Cusack, School of Rock; Leslie Bibb, Iron Man; John Lithgow, 2010; Kristen Scott Thomas, Salmon Fishing in the Yemen; Julie Hagerty, Airplane!) […]

  5. […] most, and I haven’t yet gotten around to Quantum of Solace. That leaves The Dark Knight and Iron Man, and I enjoyed Iron Man distinctly more than I enjoyed the latest Batman flick. So Iron Man gets […]

  6. […] takes the actors a while to realize they aren’t making a movie any more. Robert Downey Jr. (Iron Man) is particularly funny as an multi-Oscar winning actor who utterly immerses himself in every role, […]

  7. […]  Most of the Avengers seemed to show up for this one, including Iron Man (Robert Downey, Jr., Iron Man), Ant-Man (Paul Rudd, Ant-Man), and Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson, Vicky Cristina Barcelona). […]

  8. […] and featuring understated performances by Val Kilmer (Batman Begins) and Robert Downey Jr. (Iron Man) this movie is a pleasant surprise. Much of the humor in the movie comes from the characters’ […]

Leave a Reply

