Dan in Real Life

Movie review from The Movie Snob

Dan in Real Life (C). I thought the previews made this movie look too saccharine for my taste, but I like Steve Carell (Anchorman) and read some good reviews. Plus, the movie I really wanted to see was sold out. (For the second time!) I’m not revealing any spoilers by telling you the set-up: Carell plays Dan, an advice columnist and widower with three daughters from maybe 8 to 16. He takes his girls to his parents’ house for a big family Thanksgiving, and, while he’s alone in the small town where they live, he meets and falls for a charming woman (Juliette Binoche, Summer Hours). He goes back to his parents’ house, his brother Mitch arrives, and Mitch’s new girlfriend turns out to be none other than . . . Juliette Binoche. The rest of the movie is the processing of this set-up. My basic problem with the movie is that I just didn’t believe it. Carell’s character behaves too badly for the saintly guy he is made out to be. His family is excruciatingly cute and cuddly and close. I just didn’t buy it. See it at your own risk.

7 comments on “Dan in Real Life

  1. […] protagonist, Mike Flaherty.  Mike is a decent enough guy–he has a wife (Amy Ryan, Dan in Real Life) and two very young daughters at home, he’s a lawyer who apparently specializes in […]

  2. […] prefer the original title of this French-Italian-Belgian co-production starring Juliette Binoche (Dan in Real Life). I like Binoche, which is the main reason I sought this film out despite the mediocre review I saw […]

  3. […] go off on anyone who tries to speak a consoling word to her. That includes her mom (Dianne Wiest, Dan in Real Life), who compares Becca’s son to her own deceased son Arthur once too often. It’s no […]

  4. […] Italy. He is knocked off further off course when he befriends a French countess (Juliette Binoche, Dan in Real Life) who is trying to find her husband amidst the chaos. It’s scenic and kind of […]

  5. […] reasonably funny, and I like Steve Carell (The 40-Year-Old Virgin) a lot despite his recent misstep Dan in Real Life. I was expecting a lightweight comedy with lots of slapstick. The movie was decently funny, but it […]

  6. […] at their childhood home after their parents (James Brolin, Catch Me If You Can, and Dianne Wiest, Dan in Real Life) announce that they’re selling the place.  They pack the house with all their old […]

  7. […] with much loftier pretensions, but that movie was sold out upon my arrival. I could have seen Dan in Real Life, but I thought I might see that one with my cousin someday, so I settled for this movie instead, […]

Leave a Reply

